page icon

Introduction to the Department of Physics

Having been established in the College right from the inception (and introduction of the Honours Course after the Independence in 1950), the Department of Physics has carried forward the national legacy of quality teaching with innovative methods and practices in both Theory and Laboratory-based curricula of the University. Founded under the guidance of stalwarts and blessed by the pioneers of Physics of twentieth century Calcutta (Kolkata) like Prof. S.N. Bose, Prof. M.N. Saha, Dr. K.S. Krishnan etc., the department boasts of a nationwide & worldwide alumni base, very successful in their respective professional fields. The present faculty members are highly motivated and dedicated towards teaching, resulting in a consistent success in University Examinations as well as placements afterwards. A good number of ex-students of this Department are continuing their higher study in the universities or Integrated Ph.D. / M.Sc-Ph.D. dual degree in IISc Bengaluru and IIT's after qualifying All India IIT-JAM/JEST examinations in their final year.